out of the mouths of – friends

I’ve been experiencing intermittent bursts of joy these last few months.  Not that any of it has been sustained happiness unfortunately.  In the times in between I am still wrestling with my wet blanket.  But at least I have glimpses.  And in those sparks of energy I have been quite an artsy-craftsy baker-boi.  For Emily’s birthday I decided to attempt to make her a home-made version of her favorite cake (which she usually gets from a fancy Viennese bakery in Rhode Island) .  When I began this undertaking I had no idea what I was getting into.  We’re talking a chiffon cake layered with a lemon mousse and frosted with a lemon buttercream frosting.  A 4 hour endeavor at least.  But I did it.  With much success and aplomb if I do say so myself.

IMG_2959

Proud as a veritable peacock, I brought a slice over to my friends’ house where we watch Game of Thrones together weekly.  As they devoured the cake, exclaiming over its deliciousness, Alycia looked up at me through the fork tines she was licking clean, “Worst. Trans-man. Ever.”, she said swallowing.  “What?!”, I choked.  “Dude, you are the worst trans-man ever!  I swear.  If you’re not knitting or crafting you’re baking light and fluffy chiffon cakes with mousse and come on!! You need to toughen up!”  We all laughed our asses off.  Best.  Friends.  Ever.  I love you guys!

baker boi

baker boi

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in blessings, everyday stuff, no man's land. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to out of the mouths of – friends

  1. Flo says:

    Love you back!

  2. Jamie Ray says:

    I’m backed up on my reading/commenting and writing from going on vacation, however, if you have not watched the documentary The Kings of Pastry, then you must do so right away. They are real men wielding real pastry tools (ok it is in France but they are very manly). You can be a cake guy in the hockey off-season.

Leave a Reply

