I’m the next contestant – The Liebster Award

liebsterblogaward

liebster-award Thank you so much for the Liebster Award nomination, Tangled WebI am truly touched and super excited!

                                                                       The Liebster award was created to recognize and/or discover new bloggers and welcome them to the blogosphere.  Its aim is to help bloggers gain more followers.  Cool, huh?!  For those of you who are curious to learn more about the Liebster Award, just click. 

Ok Johnny, so tell me what I’ve won.  Actually dude, you haven’t won anything really.  But just the nomination is cool and with that nomination comes some responsibility and a set of rules.   I’ve already covered the first one, which is to thank the person who nominated me (Tangled Web) and provide a link to their blog.  Check.

Next I have to answer 11 questions about myself and provide 11 random facts about me.  So here are the 11 questions my nominator gave me:

  • Why do you blog? – Well that’s an interesting question.  I guess my answer lies somewhere in the “if a tree falls in the forest and there is no one there to hear it…” realm.  Am I really “me” if I’m the only one who knows I’m being me?  How can I best be authentically me?  Blogging seems to help me figure that out.  On the most basic level, I blog in order to clear some of the cobwebs in my head and rearrange the furniture up there.
  • On whom did you have your first crush?  Definitely the babysitter.
  • What was your favorite subject at school and why?  History.  I love learning about other people and their lives.  Once I realized that history was written by a very select few and that there was so much more to the story, I became very interested in finding out those other stories.
  • Would you like to have a space flight?  No thank you.  Motion-sickness.
  • Any phobias?  No, but I have plenty of anxiety in general.  More than makes up for lack of a specific phobia.
  • Are you superstitious?  Not really – p’tui p’tui (spitting)
  • What is your favorite sport to play or watch?  Hockey.  Hockey.  Hockey.  But I am an avid (bordering on crazy) Red Sox fan.
  • Do you have a role model? If so, who?  Two actually.  Pema Chodron and Anne Lamott.  Neither takes herself too seriously.  Both laugh readily.  Strong, sensitive, insecure and confident.  They are each wonderful mixes of love and truth.
  • What is your most productive time of day? Mid-morning.  After coffee.
  • Do you have any tattoos?  Why yes.  I have a small Keith Haring dancing blue stick-figure with a floating heart on my right shoulder-blade.  I often consider getting another actually. Or two, or three.  I can totally understand the obsession with tattoos.
  • City or county life?  Country life.  More real.  More calm.  More nature.  More air.

11 Random Facts about me?  Swallowing down a raucous, “who cares?!”…

  1. I LOVE Red Vines red licorice.  For those of you on the west coast, please send some.  In bulk.  I am stuck with Twizzlers (a pitifully poor substitute) here on the east coast.
  2. I hate feet.  My own and everybody else’s. 
  3. I sometimes burn incense in my car (nag champa) while I’m driving (but not when the children are in the car). 
  4. I love the 80s! I love the music (Boy George, Madonna, Pat Benatar), the movies, the hairstyles and the clothes.  Please don’t hold it against me.
  5. I am a HUGE fan of Joel Osteen and worship music (specifically Israel Houghton).  I like to drive around town listening to loud praise music.  The looks I get from other people are hilarious.
  6. I love Rumi and John O’Donohue.  No matter how many times I read them, I feel something different, realize something more, learn something new about the Universe.
  7. I spend an inordinate amount of time with dead people.  I have been working with the frail elderly for 17 years and have a very long list of the ones I have loved, who have touched my heart.  I keep the date of their death (Hebrew date – yahrzeit) and recite prayers for them every year on their yahrzeit.  When I feel moved to do so I send their family members a note on that anniversary to tell them I am thinking of them as well.   I also have a giant bulletin board in my office filled with photos of those people.  
  8. I read epic fantasy and historical fiction.  Voraciously.
  9. I love to learn new things!  In my 30’s I started playing soccer, learned to play the guitar and learned to carve stone.  In my 40’s I learned to knit, play ice hockey, make bread and soap.
  10. I would rather teach my children to be good people than have good manners.
  11. I peel my fruit (not just bananas) before eating it.                                                                   If you have made it this far, reading this random frivolity, I not only applaud you and appreciate you … but…   Johnny, tell them what they’ve won…  For those of you who are interested in getting something back for the time spent reading, please write to me at citygardensoap@gmail.com and I will send you a free bar of my hand-crafted soap!  And thanks for playing.

My nominated bloggers are {cue drumroll}…

A Boy and Her Dog

life with Roozle

gendermom

Sheila Gilhooly

Michellelianna

And their questions are (feel free to consider these questions for yourself):

  1. where are you most peaceful?
  2. if you could send a note to your 20-year-old-self, what would you say?
  3. what’s your favorite quote or piece of advice?
  4. what are you most proud of?
  5. what is your lucky number?
  6. if you have a craft or hobby, what is it? or what craft or hobby would you like to learn?
  7. if you could be anywhere, where would you be?
  8. what is your favorite recipe?
  9. who is your favorite cartoon character?
  10. what time period would you like to visit?
  11. if you could be magically really good at something, what would you choose to be really good at?

And this concludes this week’s post.  Thanks so much for accompanying me on this weird and wild journey.

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in blessings, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

