welcoming cleo

purple2week1

There she is, one week old.  Already a fashionista in this lovely purple collar.  I know, so gay.

She’s been home 5 days.  She is a very sweet, cuddly, adorable, smart, submissive and rather reserved puppy.  Yeah, she’s a little anxious.  So am I.  We make a good pair.  Anyway, her shyness is only momentary, fleeting.  And then she’s all up in your lap snuggling down for a nap.  This new puppy thing is a LOT of work!  I mean, I’ve done it several times before.  But I was younger then.  And it was so long ago.  I’d forgotten the every 15 minute runs outside to tinkle and praise, the strict crating schedule, the 3 meals a day that take 15 minutes each to portion out and use as informal training (making her sit and wait until I say ok before she lunges for her food).  Whew!  It’s exhausting!
But it is also exhilarating and exciting and fun.  I hate the cold and during the winter months I tend toward quiescent,  somewhere between hibernating and comatose.  I remembered today how energizing it is to have a dog, how a dog gets me outside.  Cleo and I walked a brisk 2 miles and ended with racing in the park while I fetched a tennis ball repeatedly.  Seriously, I’m probably the best non-canine fetcher in my age and weight class.

welcome miss cleo

welcome miss cleo

So welcome miss cleo.  Let the fun begin!

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in blessings, everyday stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to welcoming cleo

  1. Mary Martha Thiel says:

    She’s gorgeous! Can’t wait til she’s ready to come to work!

Leave a Reply

