handy tam and me

I’ve never really felt all that handy.  Pretty much, I’ve accepted the fact that I have my father’s genes… inasmuch as when attempting to fix one thing it is as near a guarantee as one can get that I will inadvertently ruin or break three other things in the process.  That said, I have a very encouraging spouse whose belief in me knows no bounds, and a childish adventurous spirit that’s generally game for a fun challenge, especially if there is a possibility of using tools.  We are putting our house on the market and it needs a few repairs slash updates that both Emily and I were in agreement, I should attempt to do myself.  “This sounds like a job for Handy Tam!”, I thought to myself.

bath before

As always, Tam was happy to help out.  Tam and I needed to remove the toilet, sink and vanity in the bathroom so that the tile-glazing people could come in and make that robin’s-egg blue tile a nice plain white.  I was daunted by the prospect of working with plumbing and removing a toilet.  I admit it.  I mean, one wrong move and Blam! The possibilities are putrid.  Tam has a way about her though that is quite magnificent.  Before she tackles a job, she unassumingly sits down cross-legged on the floor and assesses the situation.  With ingenuous curiosity and natural intuitiveness she considers, strategizes and gathers her necessary tools.  She is calm, methodical and confident.  And the best part for me was getting to be her apprentice for the day.  She is an encouraging, supportive and gentle mentor.  I had a blast.  The whole time we worked together (and for several days after) I kept saying, “you HAVE TO teach a home-repair class!”  I still think she should.

handy meTam gave me so much confidence that even after she left was raring to go.  I sanded down, spackled, sanded and painted the ceiling.  The next day, still feeling the positive effects of my success, I re-installed the toilet, sink and vanity.  By myself!  How handy am I?!

IMG_1136IMG_1141

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in almost off the grid, everyday stuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to handy tam and me

  1. Pingback: one door closes… | kaleidoscope life

Leave a Reply

