hunter-gatherer?

0404130727aWhy am I always surprised when the concentric circles of Torah are mirrored in  my life?  As I chanted Sh’mini on Saturday, I couldn’t help but recognize that here I was reading this ancient text that talks about the importance of what we eat, the effects of what we eat, the spiritual significance of what we eat, the limits of what we should or shouldn’t eat… at the very same time I am considering my own eating, the effects of what I eat, etc.  Rabbi Elliot Kukla’s commentary on the parsha is that what we eat has an impact on how we live and reflects our values.  He says that creating boundaries in our eating teaches us to eat mindfully and to carefully weigh the impact of our food on our bodies, our communities, and the world.  Who knew my attack on my own wheat belly could have such far-reaching ramifications?!  0404130727So here it is day 3 of my conscious wheat-avoidant eating.  I can’t say I feel much different (other than a bit hungry).

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in almost off the grid, foodstuff, in the spiritual realm. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

