oh, crafty me

The only thing that hasn’t taken a back seat to making soap lately is playing hockey.  Thankfully.  Because my sanity relies on it at this point I think.  Anyway, I’m selling soap at my first ever craft fair this weekend.  I’ve always made soap (and honestly, I don’t even remember why I started) for the sheer pleasure of making it (because I feel like a mad scientist) and to give it away.  I’ve basically used the same recipe since I started.  No sense messing with a recipe that works.  That doesn’t mean I haven’t played with scent and texture.  The way I see it, anything in the refrigerator is fair game.  Pureed cucumber is great in soap.  Also avocado.  Emily’s home-made yogurt was a nice addition as well.  I’m not a huge fan of oatmeal in my soap, but I do love a splash of coffee grounds for exfoliating.  The makeup of the soap, though, is the same: olive oil, palm oil and coconut oil.  And yes, lye to saponify it.  Hence the mad scientist excitement.

And maybe you’re wondering what this has to do with trans stuff.  And maybe it has nothing to do with trans stuff.  The reality is, my life is more than trans stuff.  And, I don’t want to be Johnny-one-note.  That’s why I call the blog kaleidoscope life.  Sometimes I’m just me.  And the funny thing is, when I’m just being me and not thinking about trans stuff, sometimes I’m pleasantly surprised.  And sometimes I’m unpleasantly surprised.  Pleasantly surprised is when I’m just being me in the world and I realize (often after the fact) that people (more often women) have been especially solicitous, generous, responsive to me.  Unpleasantly surprised is when, well, I’m treated less than kindly because of who I am, how I look and how I navigate the world.  People who are uncomfortable with not being able to put me in a box are often dismissive of and discourteous toward me.

Honestly, I don’t know how it will play out tomorrow and I’m not going to spend time trying to predict.  Right now I have to focus on the group of people coming to my home tonight for dinner, fresh-baked challah and to wrap and label one hundred pounds of soap!

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in almost off the grid, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

