transShabbat

Here’s an interesting thought:  You may have to stretch, work with me, humor me a bit.  I’m working on my sermon for Saturday’s service.  We’re back in the beginning, Genesis (B’reishit in Hebrew).  God is having a very productive week – earth, sky, plants animals, etc etc.  And in Genesis chapter 1 vs 26 God says, “Let us make a person in our image and in our likeness. They shall rule…”  Verse 27 says, “And God created a person in the image of God, male and female God created (them)”  Seems kind of trans to me.  Male and female I was created.  Yeah.  I’ve often wondered if God is trans.  Not in a sarcastic, humorous or irreverent way.  I’ve read these chapters, these stories countless times.  But for the first time, as I read these lines, this particular year, I’m struck by the fact that this feels very trans!  God is referred to, refers to God’s self, as plural and the person God creates is spoken to as plural.  I can’t believe I never considered the implications of this first creation story before.  Wow. God created trans-folk first?!

In the second creation story (that happens in chapter 2), God creates a person/man and realizes that it is not good for this person to be singular/alone.  So God creates a counterpart, because it is lo tov – not good to be singular and alone.  Those people are separate, disconnected, not whole?  They are not like those of us who are both, have been both, from the very beginning.  And the difference being….in that first creation story… it was very good.  Hmmm….

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in no man's land. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

