no food blog here

I read the article “what’s so bad about a boy who wants to wear a dress” in the New York Times Magazine.  The article was well written, understanding, compassionate and interesting.  Yes, yes, yes, there should be more than 2 choices. Gender is not one or the other, but a spectrum.  With articles like this, writers like this, parents like the ones described in the article, who needs my blog?!  I can sit back, bake and be just another food blog, joining the billions of other food blogs out there!

And then I scrolled down to read the reader comments.  My heart sank.  My stomach did too.  People can be so mean.  And unyielding.  And just plain wrong.  Attention-seeking behavior?!  Clearly these folks have never spent an afternoon in the wrong body.  Otherwise, they might not be so quick to judge and call for punitive action.  Sigh.  Well, I guess I can’t give up the blog just yet.  My baking and my trusty food photographer will have to take a back seat to this tranifesto.

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

