gazpacho and artisan bread

Nothing like cool chopped vegetables on a hot summer night.  Tonight’s dinner was great.  It’s amazing what a few hours to myself can do for my disposition.  Not that this dinner prep required so much effort or time.  Just that having had the day mostly to myself, I was in such a calm peaceful space, so relaxed.  During the day I unhurriedly practiced piano, worked on my Creole and meditated.  Only hockey could have made today more perfect.

The gazpacho was easy enough
(made easier by the use of a food processor)
1 cucumber (remove seeds)
1 red pepper
1 red onion
5 tomatoes
¼ cup olive oil
¼ cup white balsamic vinegar
2 cloves garlic 
salt and pepper to taste
 

I’ve also been playing around with artisan bread in 5 minutes a day.  I borrowed the book from the library and have been enjoying reading it.  As an aside, I sometimes wonder what librarians think.  I mean, mine in particular.  There was the period where I borrowed anything and everything about transgender – from the Billy Tipton story to Chaz Bono’s documentary DVD. I went through my knitting book phase.  Then there was the death and dying rituals period when I was compiling prayers for work. Followed by the “Family Handyman” stint – what a great magazine.  I now have in my possession “Artisan Bread in 5 Minutes a Day” and “Flour – Spectacular Recipes from Boston’s Flour Bakery + Cafe”.  I’m multifarious, you’ve got to at least give me that. And if you’re not loving this food blog… give it time, and remind yourself that my next venture could be even less interesting.

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in almost off the grid, foodstuff. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

