shabbat dinner in pictures

Ok ok, don’t freak out. This is NOT becoming a food blog. Though a food blog strictly on peanut butters, jellies and breads would be kind of cool.  But no, no food blog for me. I’m still all about exploring trans-ness. Transcending. Transitions. Transformation. The fact that I’m cooking or doing anything beyond heating up chicken nuggets in the toaster oven is all of those trans-things. And I am having fun creating.

It is the month of Av though. As we enter the month of Av, the Talmud tells us, our joy is diminished.  I knew I’d find a reason to find fault with my happiness. But seriously, entering Av is all about sadness, tragedy and loss. Here I am just getting used to letting in the happiness. So what gives? Well, I guess it is important to let in the feelings of sadness, to acknowledge loss. It really is too easy to push hard feelings down and ignore them, pretend they’re not there. Av is a way of reminding us to acknowledge those hard feelings. In embracing my deep feelings of trans-ness and taking steps to align the misalignments, I have to acknowledge all the sadnesses that accompanied me to and even compelled me to make the changes that have brought me to this happiness.

Anyway, sharing fun food with loving friends. I made Thai spring rolls. How fun is that?!

Welcome Shabbat!!

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in foodstuff, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

