peace in the house

Today is our wedding anniversary. Happy anniversary to us.  I love being in partnership with Emily and creating a home together.  We share quite nicely and complement one another perfectly.  One of the ways we do that is by talking, processing and compromising.  Our tradition teaches that shalom bayit (a peaceful home) is important. And to have a peaceful home certain accommodations must be made.  And while I agree with that in theory, no one told me that I’d have to renounce some of my most favorite foods.  I’ll let you in on a little secret.  I don’t make my own bread because I have any real desire to live off the grid.  The truth is that emily would like bread with the density of old meatloaf. She’d like seeds and flax and whole grain thickness the likes of which I can’t even talk about without choking. Whereas I’m more a Wonder bread kinda guy.  Really.  In fact I was dumbstruck when, after moving in together, she told me she’d rather not have me buy Wonder bread anymore (I asked if Sunbeam was in the same category).  As a concession, I make our bread using some (white) whole wheat flour.  And even though it is 90 degrees today, I’m going to make us bread again tonight. Only this time, I’ll actually put some real whole wheat flour in.  I love you Em.

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in blessings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

