stopping to smell the flowers

The goal is, according to the Baal Shem Tov (a 17th century Jewish mystic), to make so much room for the given that it appears as gift. And while I’d like to say I do that, find that place of gratitude, I probably end up there more often because of relatively low expectations than as a result of lofty spiritual pursuit. And I don’t mean to be dismissive. I do try to savor every moment. I love brother David Steindle-Rast and am constantly reminded that, as he likes to say, it is not happy people who are grateful, but grateful people who are happy.

I am overwhelmed with gratitude right now.  And yes, I am so very happy. Surgery in a few days and I have simply been flooded with well wishes, love and support. Phone calls, cards, emails and texts. My friends are, indeed, amazing. And I feel exceptionally blessed.

And as if all that love isn’t enough, in my final hockey game on Thursday night, I scored my very first goal!

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in blessings. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

