by bread alone

As I’ve been on my own journey, physically, spiritually, emotionally, so has my bread.  Well, sort of. Actually, it sounded a lot better in my head. At any rate, I’ve been getting into the art of bread for a while now. Vered started me on the Bittman “no knead bread” in between two cast iron skillets. I loved making that bread, which required very little effort, too much time and fool-proof good tasting bread.  But I wanted more.

Timid at first, working strictly with a bread machine given me by a dear friend, I embarked on this most interesting journey. The bread machine made it easy to feed my family, save money, make normal looking sandwiches. It allowed me to be creative without risk. I could play with ingredients and change the bread machine settings for different texture and crust. I liked it. But still, I wanted more. So I started having the bread machine make the dough and then I kneaded it for a second rising and put it in my clay baker in the oven.  And then I made friends with King Arthur. If you have any interest in baking, you have got to check out the King Arthur Flour website. Recipes, photos and a live chat help center. You can’t go wrong. Well, unless you cut too deep on those top slash marks (then you have to make really ugly sandwiches for a while). 

I love making bread. It is, not unlike soap making, a zen zone. The individual ingredients, the smells and feels, the physical part of mixing, kneading, creating, focusing and ultimately affecting change in matter right before your eyes. For me, the chemistry is fascinating, like a magic show. And in the end I create something nurturing, nourishing, useful. Made with a bit of myself.

 

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in almost off the grid, foodstuff. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to by bread alone

  1. Pingback: No-knead Bread (baked in a pot) « Silvia's Cucina

Leave a Reply

