soap

It’s pretty simple really. Soap is zen. I’m actually finding that zen place a bit more these days. Maybe it’s not having to watch someone I adore suffer, or look cancer in the face every day that has freed me up. Or maybe it’s not having to physically care so much for Jo.  Or maybe it’s as simple as getting some sleep. Nina has slept through the night for several nights in a row now. Not that I’m feeling completely rested mind you.  I’m a tired person by nature I guess, needing more sleep than the average bear. It could have to do with the fact that I live life so close to the surface, so emotionally full and present all the time. Or, then again, maybe I’m just a lazy shit.  Anyway, having gotten a bit more beauty sleep, I’ve been better able to explore more spiritual endeavors. I’ve made two small batches of cold process soap. Actually, if truth be told, I’ve made three batches, but one seized on me and I had to throw the whole thing out. Not one to be tossed off the soap box that easily, I immediately started melting more coconut oil for a re-do. So I made coconut milk green tea soap. Then I got adventurous and made a coconut milk green tea and avocado soap.  I grabbed an avocado, whizzed it up with the stick blender, and added it to my soap! Emily is a big fan of the all natural (though not thrilled about my using the avocado that she was planning on using to make guacamole) and that means no fake scent. So I’m thinking about starting a new line of soaps… nonscents soaps. Course, I still don’t have a name for my soap, scented or not. Other than, soap, of course. But, as I’ve talked about in other posts, naming is, well, complicated.

Anyway, I’m grateful for the calm of creativity and quiet mind I experience when I create.  And I am thankful for the time and resources that allowed me to engage in making soap, bring me closer to life off the grid.

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in almost off the grid. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

