clean and delicious

Engaging in three of my favorite hobbies. Even though the bread baking is done via machine, there is still thought that goes into it. And thankfully, focusing on choosing and measuring ingredients gives my mind and heart some distraction if not rest from the whirling pressure of my other-ness.

Getting back into soap making has been a bit harder. Working with lye requires more than the contrived attention I use to appear on task and focused lately.          I haven’t made soap in almost a year. I’d almost forgotten how good it felt to go down to the basement and immerse myself in the chemistry of soap making, the zen of trace as soapers say. I used my old basic recipe – olive oil, palm oil, coconut oil, fragrance. Now I’m all jazzed again.  Looking forward to making more.

Last but not least, we made ice cream. Creature of habit that I am, I made my usual – chocolate chip. I usually do this after the girls are in bed asleep. But Sunday, I was feeling generous, and they offered to help. Again, a very basic (but delicious) recipe, just 5 ingredients.

 

 

About halitentwo

i am. god is. we are. as soon as i write something about me i change, am different, evolving. i am trans. i am a parent. i am a partner. i am a human. i am attempting to live a well-lived life in the spaces in between, beyond definition, fluid, dynamic, omnifarious and always changing. hopefully growing.
This entry was posted in almost off the grid. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

